roller coaster 122

like a bullet train
they arrive
out of nowhere
although, an origin, they have

“take the ride, it’s easy, it’s free”
it shouts
but it takes
all of your here and now
when you do respond

one can decline
and discern
that it’s just an emotion
and realize
that this ride
leads to nowhere

“i don’t want to go there,
i prefer to watch”
next notify the conductor:
“Another time,
I’ve been there already, …”

– : – : –

only when
my head is silent enough
to see through the jungle
of ballooning words and opinions

only then
that train
just leaves this station,
as fast
as it entered,

without me


Picture by bvdb (whoisbert) august 2015 – @home – Nikon D3300 – x_DSC_2934

19 thoughts on “roller coaster 122

  1. Beautiful photo. I am sadly familiar with the inability to resist riding the bullet train. I occasionally have sufficient awareness to notice I’m on it but I’m rarely able to let it travel without me. Your posts are like the bell that brings me back to the station every now and then. Thank you. 🙂

    • Thank you, Sarah.
      Well, … I wrote this mainly for myself — as I’m on the roller coaster myself since 14 days … Hope you get the courage to let your trains fly by. Sometimes i succeed. But most often, not … unfortunately.

      • I’m sorry to hear that Bert. I was recently reminding my son that meditation helps to flatten our roller coasters (he’s on a really wild one at the moment). I only mention it because I also told him that even 5 minutes break from the ride can make a difference and I wonder whether you’d agree. I’ve found that the regularity/frequency of the habit is more important than the duration of individual sittings or periods of mindfulness. What do you think?
        I hope you manage to get off your current roller coaster soon. 🙂

        • the emotional roller coaster connected to ill health is very difficult to shake off. I wrote about it yesterday too. hope and fear go hand in hand and form a chain to prevent us from leaving the train 🙂 it is difficult to calm the mind in that situation and meditation is less fruitful to say the least.
          Things are going a little better these days.
          But I am reminded that meditation has to be done when things are going well, so we can keep our mind more calm during more difficult times. It appears that roller coasters come with stars attached. Some are easier to let go than others. 🙂
          Yes, making meditation a habit is a good thing.
          On the other hand, if you really face the reality of your own suffering, being more inside the mind than anywhere else, then that roller coaster can be stopped in an instant. I try to apply that to my current situation and realize that it is so much easier said than done 🙂

          • Sorry you’re having health worries at the moment, dear Bert. You’re so right – meditation in quiet times is like an investment, isn’t it? Also, any effort to face one’s suffering in the way that you’re talking about has got to be a good thing, even if it seems to fail. I’ve found meditation to be like that. One isn’t supposed to judge the quality of a sitting but at my level it’s easy to think that one session was “better” than another, or that a session was a waste of time because of distractions. However, I know from other people’s observations that even regular “failed” sittings have a positive effect on me. I hope that you are able to get off the roller coaster soon i.e. that your health worries are resolved. My sincerest best wishes to you. ❤

          • My son is on a very exciting roller coaster in Mexico City so there are good views along the way, and he’s not in a hurry to get off. 🙂 He’s had a bout of Montezuma’s revenge but luckily his health is otherwise fine. The main challenges have been to do with traveling solo for the first time, red tape, language, culture clash, stolen property and that kind of thing. Thanks for your concern. 🙂

Leave a Reply

