cricket

click the ‘pictures’, to enlarge …

The first picture was taken the 24th of July, in the bedroom.
Actually, there were two of them,
both climbing to find the highest place
to sing a summer song.

Personally, I prefer to listen to their music when they are outside;
I took some pictures, and brought them to the garden.

Just one week later, I thought I saw a dragonfly,
not far from where I had released both ‘bedroom’-individuals.
A closer look revealed a giant bush-cricket.
It had four wings, but it didn’t let me photograph its short flights.

After a close encounter (pic 7674), it decided to climb the century old brick wall of my neighbour’s house. The bricks give you an indication of the insect’s size.
One day later, my neighbour told me he had seen the giant insect too.

They are quite common, the internet says, but it was my first encounter in my own garden.

Actually, I think that both bedroom and garden varieties are the same species.
I suppose that the smaller ones are ‘wingless’ nymphs, or perhaps there is a lot of variety in size within their genus.

Wikipedia gives a lot more information:
tettogina viridissima / Great Green Bush-Cricket / katydids cricket
also the advise not to have a close encounter with their jaws.


Pictures by bvdb (whoisbert) july/august 2014 @home – Canon Ixus HS230 – IMG_7635/74/77/78/80

 

11 thoughts on “cricket

Leave a Reply

