Off Center

click these thumbnails, and view Chaenomeles x superba full size
check wikipedia here

Rapidly losing my center.
Spiralling out
into no-man’s land.

The ‘unknown’ is the culprit.

But the unknown is also adventure.
Didn’t I enjoy adventure most of the time?

Yes, I did.

Then why is it difficult to see this new unknown as an adventure?
Didn’t I discuss stage-fright the other night?
And wasn’t there a conclusion that it is the mind resisting?

Then S. poetically added “take [mind] by the hand and step beyond fear


Pictures by bvdb (whoisbert) january 2014 – @home – Canon Ixus HS230 – IMG_5720-5719-5942-5738-5739-5714

27 thoughts on “Off Center

  1. I still hear you Bert! And thank you for the mention. 🙂

    Beautiful images, too. I know that Chaenomeles can come in many colours but have never seen this delicate pink in my area. Pink – the heart colour opening in the rain (feelings) to a sunny centre. Very poetic and so well corresponding with your topic.

    I am just thinking:
    You know, sometimes when I feel like I am off centre I am actually just growing beyond my current limits. Spiralling out, yes. A need for adjusting balance, yes. But actually losing centre? No.

    Sending much love and courage for that step onto stage,
    Steffi

    • Hi Stefanie, thanks for visiting and following.
      The Chaenomeles must be quite old. Probably planted by my grandfather or great uncle, when they were living in the two houses they built next to each other. I now inhabit my grandfather’s.
      What I photographed is not the original, but a shoot of a shoot of a shoot … but still the same genome 🙂 This one planted by my great uncle’s daughter, now 86, and still living next door.

      Great thought, “growing beyond current limits”. Perhaps this is happening.
      I see that my youngest, who is growing quite fast, has to readjust herself to her new dimensions all the time, hitting doors and stairs … finding a new balance.

      Thank you for the encouragement.
      May you be blessed!

      • Wow, so this plant has quite a lineage, so to say!
        I know, it’s off topic, yet I wonder: Are the fruits of the edible kind?

        Great if my thought about growing beyond current limits feels supportive for you. Your observation about your youngest growing fast physically and having to adjust frequently is a wonderful example. Often the kids show us the way, anyway. 😉

        In such a phase it usually helps me to allow some time and calm for the adjustments. I know this can be challenging depending on how much we are involved with various aspects of our surroundings. Yet, if we gift ourselves with time we may notice that we have, well, more time.

        Blessings to you, too!

  2. Yeah, I wonder if it’s simply the human condition. We love adventure and fear change and what we don’t ‘know.’ Generalizing, I know. But still … something to ponder. Good points, Bert.

    • Thank you for your kind words. Have a great evening (einen schoenen Abend – ich habe fergessen wie Deutsch zu schreiben, dieses hatt mir fuenf minuten gebraucht)

  3. Beautiful shots! We are in the middle of a blizzard here. I am way off center– being physically ill takes away one’s centering device and I have been sick awhile. Worry, fear– both loom large as I pray for my husband to get home safely. We are off center. I will get to the bottom of this. I will pray for peace. Those closest to us are ones who dangle the hook but I should not bite. “Don’t bite the hook,” Pema Chodron says. Perhaps learning to walk a tight rope would be easier.

  4. As one who has been teetering around the center a bit the past week, thanks for this beautiful reminder. Also I am going to have to go check out “S”.

    Making known the unknown together, one beautiful image at a time. Thanks B. -x.M

Leave a Reply

