hairy visitor

please click the thumbnails to discover its full beauty …

It woke because of higher temperatures;
then it’s instinct didn’t give a solution to “window!!”

When I discovered it, it was quite aggressive,
and at first it took me for the inventor of glass.

But for some reason,
it posed for the camera,
quickly,

as if it knew that this
would be the price for fast freedom.

And then I released it.

Perhaps it will survive in a barn,
but it’s getting colder now,
and it freezes again at night.

Before I photographed these bugs,
I thought only bumblebees had hair,

but now, my thinking is reversed,
and I’m still waiting
to make that first picture, of one
,
that will live a bold bald life.


Pictures by bvdb (whoisbert) january 2014 – @home – Canon Ixus HS230 – IMG 5418-20-21-23

23 thoughts on “hairy visitor

  1. Brave man! Yikes… I do admire and respect all creatures but this is one that, let’s say challenges my parameters of affection. Yet I too ‘catch and release’. They are interesting to look at but I’ll keep it to nature documentaries and images from courageous photographers like You! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    • Thank You. Respect seems to work. Keeping your distance also, but then there would be no pictures. I think that they have warmth sensors, and they don’t see the small camera as a danger. I had been stung when only 2 y.o. and developed a serious phobia for them after that. But there came a time when I had my own children to protect. A lot of respectful encounters later the fear is almost gone, only respect remains. For the sake of the children I kill the 2 inch hornets, but these ordinary guys get herded to an escape route and released.

      • I salute your efforts for your children. How wise to not pass along a phobia. I continue to work on that as I do get rather excited around them (memories of my 3 stings) but that behavior is NOT something I want to role model. Remaining calm and respectful is the way to go with these intelligent creatures (unless they’re 2″ hornets, then all bets are off for sure!).

        • They have their robot-like intelligence. An insect is made of microcontrollers, called ganglia, and has no central processing unit. Most of it seems to be hard wired in their DNA. But a work of art and beauty, highly respected (even those nasty mosquitos), no doubt.
          There has been a learning curve in my case to unlearn my fear. Being stung a couple of times and puttng things in perspective has been an important part of that. My doctor has hurt me a lot more, already, a couple of times, with my permission. The fear for the hornet is still mythical, since I’ve never been stung by one. But I have also come to realize that when they land on your body by mistake, they don’t sting but just fly away when remaining calm and moving slowly, like the wind moves the branches of a tree. My problem here is still to unlearn the reflex of moving too fast (also with bumblebees and dragonflies – as mentioned in previous posts)

Leave a Reply

