see, one and thirty …

Click thumbnails to enlarge ..

just a silhouette
above the skyline
touching treetops
captured while looking
for birds in the sky
next blown up
to fit the frame

soon nearer,
and so much larger
awesome machine
roaring over our heads

flying lower,
master of the skies
the elephant of the air
came out of nowhere
and we wonder
where
it might
fly to

taking our dreams
together with
its freight

and noise
to some
destination
unknown:

terra incognita


Pictures by bvdb (whoisbert) December 2013 – @chestnut forest – Canon Ixus HS230 – IMG 5091/5093/5094/5095

11 thoughts on “see, one and thirty …

  1. It is interesting to see which images or symbols trigger poetry! If I had to pick a symbol for stress and (over-)working some years ago … it would have been an aeroplane πŸ™‚

  2. Something similar happened to me c.1963 when, at dawn, I was in the wilds of Sri Lanka, lying on a rock outcrop in a lagoon with a gun on one side and a camera on the other when I noticed in the distance a tiny moving shape which developed into a flight of flamingos which eventually passed directly above me. I reached for my gun, put it down, and took up my camera. I never used my gun again!

Leave a Reply

