experiencing consciousness

mind bombarded with multiple experiencing in background and foreground (artwork (c) pierre claes)

mind bombarded with multiple experiences in background and foreground (artwork (c) pierre claes)

Anything that captures my attention creates consciousness.

So I have my 5 senses that capture my attention,
but a burp or a rumble from the tummy also captures my attention.
Next to touch there is also something which could be called body consciousness.

Most of the time my attention is captured by thoughts popping in and out.
It is in that way — the way that mind captures consciousness —
that buddhism calls the mind one of the senses,
one of the elements generating consciousness.

What happens during mind silence?

Well, I listen. Listening without sound is still conscious.
Seeing without looking is still conscious.
Feeling where you are sitting is still conscious.
Being aware of that thought is still being conscious.

Without that awareness, sleep comes.
So my awareness is my consciousness when I meditate.

What is awareness?
It is still a product of mind.
A subtle mind?

A reversed interrupt,
now listening
in stead of ringing the bell.

21 thoughts on “experiencing consciousness

  1. Just found a video that might be too elementary for you but the scientific explanation at the end hooked me. It is a slightly different form of meditation than Yogananda’s but seems logically sound.

  2. “a reversed interrupt,
    Now listening
    Instead of ringing the bell.”

    I love this. You really have a way with words! Such insight, too.

      • I forgot you said you wanted dialogue, not fawning approval. I’ll read your posts more critically, rather than for pleasure, and try to contribute to the conversation.

        • Again, I appreciate the encouragement, and I understand that it is not always possible to contribute in another way. But any thoughts, questions on the subject are most welcome.

    • Thank you, I appreciate the encouragement, but perhaps you are giving me too much credit. In the process of blogging critical comments are very important to sharpen the view. I have learned a lot from all of you. And still learning a lot more.

  3. A really good concise roadmap of states of mind. Is awareness the voice within that arises in meditation?
    P.S. Great photo for the post– really does a good job of portraying overwhelm.

    • thank you,
      this is just my experience, nothing more,
      perhaps experiencing consciousness
      is not the same as consciousness.
      and how are self and consciousness related?

      • This is a good question. Can consciousness experience itself? Thought and awareness of thought are most certainly not the same thing.

        • metacognition is just another monitoring process using the thought machine.
          awareness is different, still uses mind, but a different approach (what I like to call the ‘interrupt’). You feel that interrupt when your thoughts have gone far away from the task you were doing, and then the interrupt points you to your duties.

          • Interesting. I don’t think it is the ‘interrupt’ that points you back to your other duties. That is thought again. The ‘interrupt’ is the pure awareness without thought. Awareness is quite possibly beyond mind.

            • It depends on definitions. I see mind as all we have. Is see mental capacity as: thoughts, opinions, interpretation, reasoning and logic, concepts and memory. It is obvious that awareness is not mental activity. But I see the interrupt, hence awareness, as part of a subtle mind, a higher layer, but still a layer of mind. The interrupt is felt more strongly during awe and inspiration, and in the ‘long distance connector’, whatever that is. But also in simple and ordinary things. I feel that my task manager is not a mental process, that would be metacognition, it goes beyond, but I’m not sure of anything. The interrupt can wake me up. Thought cannot do that. Unfortunately, I only have one brain to experiment on. And whatever is trying to look at itself, sees a distorted image, in the best case.
              In this system that I write about, mental activity is restricted to the physical brain. Interrupts and mental activity are both in the mind. If there is a part of consciousness that is not located in our physical brain, parts of the interrupt, but not its interface, might be a candidate.
              However, I want to refrain from creating any metaphysics. I prefer to say: “I don’t know”.
              Perhaps, as Ian Gardner suggested, I should add a vocabulary. I differ slightly from his system, but I see a lot more of similarities. So it wouldn’t be a bad thing to use his dictionary, whenever possible. One doesn’t have to reinvent the wheel again and again.

Leave a Reply

