… will …

sandwich

what would you like to eat … ?

A desire, a will, causes an interrupt in our thinking, and we follow that for some time, or not. It is easy to identify myself with free will. But where does it come from?

1. There are needs of the body translating itself in starting a range of events leading to eating. A lot of those events come out of habit. Some are dictated by time and place (circumstances). Some are dictated by a subtle way that the body tells us it needs this kind of food.

So we desire to eat pizza or quiche or a healthy sandwich. How free is our will when feeling hungry and selecting food? My will is only free if I freely decide not to eat here and now, or try something completely different.

.

2. When I feel bored, the ‘google in my head’ shows possibilities to get rid of feeling bored. Those possibilities are most often habits and addictions. Some addictions are connected to our body, like nicotine. Some addictions are just habits, like watching tv, or browsing the news on the internet. How free is my will when I want to cut boredom? My will is only free if I decide not to cut boredom, when I stop the procrastinating that led to boredom, or when I consciously decide to do something ‘new’.

.

3. When somebody just cut me off will driving, there is an initial sadness translated by our mental system in frustration or anger. How free is the will to disregard the sadness and the ensuing frustration?

.

Obviously, 1 2 and 3 have little to do with free will. There is a need, a want, a desire, an event, initiated by body, emotion or mind, and we usually (if not always) consider circumstances automatically and follow our habits.

The second post on free will can be found here: … will (2)

18 thoughts on “… will …

  1. I have not fully digested the post yet. So this is just a first comment. As we are not our bodies, we do have the responsibility to take care of it. Is that free will? We can choose not to, but the body will not be able to function (well) without care. Is choosing not to free will? I think free will is ‘available’ regardless of being tied to physical needs, pleasure wants, or desires. But, as long as the needs, wants, and desires, are the focus of the mind – to do or not to do – there will be little room left to exercise free will. So, one stumbling about in ignorance has a free will still. But can this person cut through the veils, and exercise it? What do you think? Namaste.

    • This is just part one on will. In this part, I talk about habits. One can draw the conclusion that concerning the 3 points I bring forward, free will here means changing habits.
      There is no free will in swimming or in traffic. You need to react like a machine.
      Also when your body needs to eat yo have no choice but to eat. And what you eat is only habit.
      Boredom is a little bit different. Because there are people who are never bored, but for 99% what you do when you are bored is a habit.

      Of course, when you are always mindful, you have a choice. But how does it feel to be always mindful? I have a problem with mindfulness. In my case there are better options:
      I have changed my habits of getting frustrated in traffic, but I still feel sadness when crazy things arrive. Only this sadness doe not carry me away anymore.
      I am slowly changing my nutritional habits, and these days I barely feel bored, not even in a waiting room, and without smart phone.

      • Lol, at the smart phone bit. I think you have a different starting point. From unaware to aware. Bottom up. Freedom to choose from limited options. To not know that one has a free will only (and maybe for a few not even) limited by the body, one has to overcome all the distractions that limit free will to the body. Which is different from the form of exercising free will. Free will can be chosen from moment to moment IN a situation, but the situation itself could have been chosen at free will, and moment to moment direction may not be needed.
        Habits can limit the expression of free will, yet when habit brings discipline it can allow for expression of it. What is the deal with your sadness? What loss does it refer to?

        • Sadness when a road terrorist makes faces and hand gestures at me, like today. I feel. It is impossible not to feel, but it does not turn into anger. Neither does it turn to compassion, only pity.
          Yes, bottom up. Most people live like that: “from the bottle to the nipple never satisfied” said Grace Jones. I want to make some aware of all those good intentions and feelings of freedom; and that it is all nonsense. Habits, often bad habits live our lives. Suggestion is the other half through publicity and other ways.
          How free is my will, really? Why did I make the choices I made in this life that really made a difference. Did I really make those choices myself? How aware was I of the consequences?
          I wouldn’t score very high on the free will test.
          I have a very practical approach. Theory does not serve.
          That is the starting point. It is a difficult subject. Part2 is not even thought of,

          • Oops. My previous reply disappeared. Not my free will as lower Self! Let me try again.
            Good starting point. Excellent topic to meditate on. To not just understand how programming limits free will, but also to understand where from free will originates. Is the Higher Self also subjected to programming or suggestions? Namaste.

            • I know that feeling of oops when you answer in line with the pop up window. You have to be fast or the automatic refresh eats your words.

              I think I am going to have to disappoint you on the short term. I’m not out of it yet. This is ‘pondering time’. I analyse my own acts of ‘free?’ will these days, and honestly I don’t see much of it. I sort of released the prologue ‘habits’ as for me this basis of ‘not so free’ will is more or less finished. I’m 90% out of it.

              We have an influence on our desires, we can act on decisions, and the whole reasoning process also seems to be operated by free will. But when you are executing a plan, free will is not there.

              If you have spiritual/higher self habits, they too have been programmed. If you have the habit of meditating in this or that way, every day at the same time in that kind of special room, you are programmed. If you do the same exercise even after the insights that this exercise is used for have already shown up, again and again, you are spiritually as programmed as a daily MacDonalds customer.

            • Lol @ Mickey D. No disappointment here. As long as there is ‘mind’ there is programming. It is how the mind operates. A baby needs programming to function beyond eating and sleeping (root functioning). To be a productive human being training of the mind is needed. Training for good or bad is irrelevant to the child. Programming is a fact of sentient life.
              The question is at what point(s) can there be free will? I look top down, but I am not sure where the top is. And another question: whether at any point there is no program? And, can we know in our sentient state of mind? Because, that might still be a program – whether samsara or nirvana.

    • New thread …

      3 keys to free will: inspiration, creativity, being in the present and adapting your script ad hoc.
      inspiration needs a calmed down mind, creativity needs flow, the present needs mindfulness.

      When the mind is really still, there are only background scripts that keep the body and it systems running. This also happens during deep sleep. Nirvana might be consciousness in a deep sleep like state.

      • I translate the three keys to stillness, action and mindfulness. I quite like that trinity.
        The consiousness order I make into: conscious, collective conscious, subconscious, collective subconscious, sleep state. All samsara. Then nirvana, then Bardo. I am still meditating on it. I am starting to believe that nirvana and Bardo might be just as layered as samsara.
        And free will is present in every conscious state or mind, but from top to bottom more filtered, veiled or smaller. Lower directed by higher. Free will to choose non-GMO food for dinner, but when living in a country where there is only GMO food to choose from, then a higher free will has limited the lower free will.
        So, your post shows me that there is even more to free will than I had assumed. I can now apply it to all the chakras, not just from crown chakra down. Excellent.

  2. Re number 3, noted 20th Century psychologist and founding father of cognitive behavioral therapy Albert Ellis would say that one needs to end “low frustration tolerance” and develop “high frustration tolerance”. This means to quit “catastrophizing” events that in reality are only a nuisance . He’d say, “stop reindoctrinating yourself with the belief that getting cut off on the highway is ‘awful’ and that “you can’t stand it” (also known as “I-can’t-stand-it-itis). Of curse you can stand it, even if you don’t much like it!”.

    I like Albert Ellis. He makes good sense, to me at least.

    • But that is not free will, that is a conscious decision to change your habits. (1) Which is not a guarantee that you will act (2) on this decision, and even less that you will succeed in changing the habit.(3)
      The same is true for wanting a healthier lifestyle. How many take that decision on new years day, and how many succeed?

Leave a Reply

