Wodan’s Day

mercury and ngc253

mercury and ngc253

Wodan was a Teutonian god roaming the forest like a whirlwind. He must have been a speedy god. He gave his name to the mid-week-day: Wednesday. The Roman god Mercury gave his name to Wednesday in all roman languages. In France they say: Mercredi. We can assume that Wodan and Mercury had a relationship. Mercury was the divine messenger in those days. Perhaps he used his friend, the windy  and speedy Wodan, to deliver the messages.

In Hindi, a language derived from Sanskrit mainly spoken in India, Wednesday is called Budhavara. This Budha with only one D has nothing to do with the Buddha. He is the Indian equivalent of Wodan or Mercury.

It is fascinating to see that in most Indo-European languages, the days of the week are connected to similar gods and the same 7 heavenly bodies. Why we came up with a seven days week and not an eight days week, or a five days week is a mystery to me. How Eurasia would have been interconnected 5000 years ago in such a way as to have this similarity is an even greater mystery.

This week, Wednesday is the day of surrender. I surrender to the elements: snow and wind and freezing temperatures. In stead of fighting and getting upset for no reason, I will adapt and stay home and watch from behind a double glass window.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Wodan’s Day

  1. Thank you, Bert! I so appreciate your post. Of course, grief IS the only way to go– I tried to block it because it takes over everything.

    My aunt said awhile ago that the “golden years” were a bit tarnished.
    It is true that old age is hard. But recently, although not there yet, I see a new thread of gold. Just the other day I told my husband, in a happy moment, that it does not get better than this. Perhaps old age has golden moments actually because of the tarnish of facing mortality and physical ills and loss after loss. Sickness can teach. Having been sick, but not seriously so, for some time now, I have come to a new place, better than before, relishing those golden moments and locking them inside my heart.

  2. Lots of mystery about Wednesday.
    I surrender to the fact my aunt is dying.
    I love my aunt. She was a second mother to me after mine died.
    At first I felt hard– like “just another loss.” Now the grief. And the terror of losing my husband. With certain illnesses and at a certain age, one thing starts a dominoe effect and all must stand and watch someone slip away, helpless to stop the process.
    Listening to Pema Chodron earlier before the call came. She says, yes, exactly what you say, to surrender. Only I think her words are to stay with the pain, accept it and not to react in the usual fashion, ie. with anger.
    Very cold here, too, and snow on the way for the weekend.

    • Strength in these difficult days. Days of memories coming back, days of pain in the present.
      Looking at the future, … old age doesn’t bring the happiest of days. How can we not be attached to those who cared for us. We are human and not free roaming souls. At least not yet. Your aunt might go there soon, and she will know, and we will assume but never know while here. Grief is the only way to go. What makes us sad, We feel the loss. The goodbyes. Granted enough time, grief will slowly make space for acceptance and peace.

Leave a Reply

