understanding and realization

The teacher asked me yesterday what is the difference between understanding and realization. And I reflected that somebody who understands knows about theory and mechanism behind some process, but realization is being able to really do it.
I gave the example of a 5 year old boy who knows all the letters of the alphabet, but who cannot read and write.

The Teacher agreed.

Later I thought of the person born blind knowing everything about colours from what his friends and books might possibly tell him.
Later I thought about the philosopher understanding all the writings about emptiness without ever having touched it.

I’m the philosopher.

Much later I read: “To see what isn’t true is easy. But to see what is true will take some doing.”

Leave a Reply

